Ref: Notice/001/02/16
> Dear Chairman/ Secretary,
> Consequent upon the failure and or refusal of Branches to
> observe the mandatory provisions of the NBA Uniform Byelaws
> as it concerns the term of office and election of Branch
> Officers, the President of the Nigerian Bar Association,
> Augustine Alegeh SAN, hereby directs the issuance of this
> notice:
> The NBA National Secretariat will no longer accord
> recognition to Branch Officers who are elected in an
> election held in a month other than June as the Uniform
> Byelaws for Branches requires elections of Branch Officers
> to be held only in the month of June.
> All Branch Electoral Committee should make arrangements for
> election of officers of the Branch in the month of June in
> line with Article 10(3)(b) of the Uniform Byelaws. Where the
> tenure of the Branch officers will not expire in the month
> of June a Care-taker Committee to be composed of at least
> three past Chairmen of the Branch (unless impracticable due
> to a recent founding of the Branch, in which case, at least
> one past Chairman and Secretary and, if not available, as
> composed by the President of the Association, shall be set
> up at the expiration of the tenure of the Branch officers.
> The duties of the Care-taker Committee shall be to take over
> the running of the Branch and protect the property and
> estate of the Branch in the interim and forthwith arrange
> for the holding of an Annual General Meeting wherein
> officers of the Branch shall be elected – Article 11(1)(a)
> in June after the expiration of the tenure of the Branch
> officers.
> The NBA National Secretariat should be immediately noticed
> as soon as a care-taker committee is set up to take over the
> administration of a Branch.
> All Chairmen are advised to ensure they put machinery in
> place to ensure election of officers of their branch are
> held in the month of June coming immediately after the
> expiration of their tenure where their tenure does not lapse
> in June.
> Officers of the Branch shall be elected every two (2) years
> at an election preceding or at the Annual General Meeting
> for the election year. No member of the Branch shall occupy
> the same office for more than one term of two (2) years.
> A person may with the approval of NEC granted prior to the
> Branch election only hold office as Chairman or Secretary
> for a further two (2) year term, if it is satisfactorily
> proved that the Branch does not have requisite qualified
> persons to stand for election to any of those offices.
> The National Secretariat will neither recognise nor deal
> with any Chairman, Secretary or indeed any Branch Officer
> who claims to have been ‘re-elected’ into the same
> office in violation of the Uniform Byelaws.
> The NBA will also neither accord recognition to any
> Chairman, Secretary, NEC Rep or member of his/her Exco who
> remains in office after the expiration of their two-year
> tenure. Their attendance at NEC Meetings will also be
> downgraded to observer status.
> Mazi Afam Osigwe
> General Secretary, NBA

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *